What are Madani Surah in Quran?

The Madani Surahs, also known as Surah Madaniyah, are the chapters of the Quran that were revealed in Medina after Prophet Muhammad’s migration (hijrah) from Mecca. There are a total of 28 Madani Surah in Quran, which were revealed during a period when the Muslim community was larger and more established in Medina compared to its earlier years in Mecca.

When Prophet Muhammad (P.B.U.H) went to Madina, the Surahs revealed they focused on making Islamic laws, rules about money, being good, family rules, morals, and how Islam and Muslims relate to other religions. In these Surahs, the main thing talked about is “jihad” or how to do it.

Important Features of Madani Surah in Quran:

  • Time of Revelation: Revealed during Prophet Muhammad’s stay in Medina after the Hijra.
  • Focus: Madani Surah in Quran mainly covers social laws, governance, and advice on how Muslims should interact with each other (Ummah). They also discuss topics like warfare, treaties, and family matters.
  • Style and Length: Typically lengthier and more elaborate, concentrating on legal and societal matters.
  • Intended Audience: Meant for the Muslim community in Medina, comprising both the Ansar (locals) and the Muhajirun (migrants from Mecca).

How many Madani Surah in Quran?

There are 28 Madani Surahs and here is the list of Madani Surah in Quran:

Al-Baqarah (286)Al-Imran (200)An-Nisa (176)Al-Ma’idah (120)
Al-Anfal (177)At-Tawbah (129)Ar-Ra’d (43)Al-Hajj (78)
An-Nur (64)Al-Ahzab (73)Muhammad (38)Al-Fath (29)
Al-Hujurat (18)Surah Rahman (78)Al-Hadid (29)Al-Mujadilah (22)
Al-Hashr (24)Al-Mumtahanah (13)As-Saff (14)Al-Jumu’ah (11)
Al-Munafiqun (11)At-Taghabun (18)At-Talaq (12)Al-Tahrim (12)
Al-Insan (31)Al-Bayyinah (8)Az-Zalzalah (8)An-Nasr (3)

Why was the Quran divided into Makki and Madani?

The Quran was divided into Makki and Madani based on when it was revealed: Makki refers to the verses revealed before Prophet Muhammad’s migration to Medina, while Madani refers to those revealed after his migration.

This classification helps us understand the context and audience of the verses. By knowing when the verses were revealed, we can better grasp their intended meanings and avoid misinterpretation.

Frequently Ask Questions

In total, the Quran comprises 114 Surahs. Among these, 86 Surahs are categorized as Makki, while 28 Surahs are classified as Madani. The Makki Surahs were revealed during Prophet Muhammad’s time in Mecca, while the Madani Surahs were revealed during his residence in Medina.

There are 28 Madani Surah in Quran. These chapters were revealed during the period when Prophet Muhammad (SAW) resided in Medina after the Hijra.

Surah Al-Baqarah is the first Madani Surah in Quran. As mentioned, Madani Surahs are generally longer and more detailed, and Surah Al-Baqarah is one of the longest chapters in the Quran. It covers a wide range of topics including legislation, morality, and guidance for the Muslim community.

Surah Al-Baqarah is the only Surah in the Quran that is both Makki and Madani. It was revealed partly in Mecca and partly in Medina. The division between its Makki and Madani portions occurred during the migration of the Prophet Muhammad (SAW) from Mecca to Medina.

A “Madani Quran” is a version of the Quran based on where they were revealed: either in Mecca or Medina. This helps people understand when and where each part of the Quran was given to Prophet Muhammad. It’s like a guide that makes it easier to learn about the different parts of the Quran’s teachings.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *